Senator Charles Schumer says 15 Upstate counties will be getting $5 million in emergency aid for repairs to flood-damaged roads and bridges.

Schumer says the money will pay for work needed to clean debris and rebuild washed-out roads and bridges from the flooding that began June 27. Madison and Oneida would be Central New York counties eligible for the aid. Among the additional counties are Broome, Chenango, Clinton, Herkimer, Otsego, and St. Lawrence. This money is separate from aid provided by FEMA, which will be used to rebuild local infrastructures in towns and villages.